Academics & Achievement Accountability Board of Education Budget and Finance Bullying and Conflict Calendars Central Administration Delays and Closures Educational Programs Food Services Gifted and Talented Health Information How to Enroll Laws and Policies Long Range Plan 2017 Meet Our Superintendent Mental Health Mission and Vision Parent Portal (My Campus) Safety in the Schools Technology
Office of Student Services Community Liaison / Social Worker Counseling Services District Crisis Team English Learners Development Homebound Services Homeless/Displaced Students Section 504 Special Education
Why Work at CMSD? General Information Employment Opportunities Salary Schedule Substitute Opportunities
Aquatics Center Our Foundation D-12 Hall of Fame Elevate
Visit Our Schools Broadmoor Elementary Canon School Cheyenne Mtn Elementary Gold Camp Elementary Pinon Valley Elementary Skyway Elementary Cheyenne Mtn Junior High Cheyenne Mtn High School The Vanguard School

Our Foundation


Supporting Cheyenne Mountain Schools Since 1988

"Excellent schools equal excellent communities, and the fund raising efforts of
The Tradition of Excellence Foundation not only help us maintain the quality
educational programs we have come to expect, but also add value to the
entire Cheyenne Mountain community."

                                                                                               - Dr. Walt Cooper, Superintendent of Schools


2017 Tradition of Excellence Foundation

Teacher Grant Awards


Because of generous donations that were given to the Foundation through the annual 12 For 12 campaign, the Legacy Circle, the bi-annual district auction, and designated gifts, over $37,000 was awarded in grants in May to support academics, athletics and the arts in District 12 schools.  Thank you to all our donors and volunteers who made these grants possible. 


Broadmoor Elementary School

Wobble Chairs

Musical Instruments


Cheyenne Mountain Elementary School

Wobble Chairs

Sphero Sparks Kits

Musical Instruments


Cheyenne Mountain High School

Anatomy Clay Kits

iPads and iPens

3-D Printer


Cheyenne Mountain Junior High School


Scientific Calculators


Gold Camp Elementary School

Sphero Sparks Kits

Mountain Math and Language Kits


Piñon Valley Elementary School

Robot Kits and Curriculum

Sphero Sparks Kits

Musical Instruments


Skyway Elementary School

Presentation Sound System

Musical Instruments


Special Education/Transition



District-wide Athletics

Elementary School Sport Sampling Camps


District-wide Elementary Schools

STARLab Portable Planetarium


Total Grant Funds Awarded:  $37,189.00

Our Mission

The Tradition of Excellence Foundation is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization created to promote and support programs of academic, artistic, and athletic excellence.  Founded in 1988, the Foundation provides a tax-deductible vehicle for citizens, businesses, and foundations to contribute to Cheyenne Mountain School District 12. The Tradition of Excellence Foundation operates independently from, but in cooperation with, the District 12 Board of Education and district administration officials and staff to identify specific needs that the school district is unable to fund, either by law or by budgetary limitations.


For further information on how you can help support the Cheyenne Mountain School District through the Tradition of Excellence Foundation, contact Sally Hybl, Tradition of Excellence Foundation President.

Support Our Foundation with Amazon Smile

AmazonSmile is a simple and automatic way for you to support the Tradition of Excellence Foundation every time you shop, at no cost to you!


When you shop at smile.amazon.com, Amazon will donate a portion of the purchase price to our foundation.  


To sign up go to smile.amazon.com and search for The Tradition of Excellence Foundation for the Cheyenne Mountain Schools.  It's that easy!

Donate to the Tradition of Excellence Foundation

Tax-deductible donations to The Tradition of Excellence Foundation can be sent to:

The Tradition of Excellence Foundation
c/o Cheyenne Mountain School District 12
1775 LaClede Street
Colorado Springs, CO 80905


You click also on the logo below to donate by credit card:


Foundation Board of Directors

Sally Hybl, President

Eric Scott, Vice President      Carol Kleiner, Treasurer    Emilie Simon, Secretary     Ann Naughton, Director

Steve Mulliken, Director      Jeff Ahrendsen, Director        Kara Mehall, Director      Melody Antles, Director     Walt Cooper, Ex Officio